Minha análise de Sherwin Williams Emerald Urethane on Cabinets



We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Esmeralda Urethane Paint

Por muitos anos, a tinta que mais uso em gabinetes sempre foi a Pro Classic semi-gloss (acrílico) da Sherwin Williams. Tive boas experiências com este produto, mas uma coisa que sempre não gostei sobre a tinta é que ela escorre facilmente quando pulverizada. Também descobri que o acabamento do Pro Classic é ligeiramente macio e emborrachado. Eu queria fazer um upgrade para uma tinta que secasse mais forte para durabilidade de longo prazo, especialmente para uso em gabinetes.

Recentemente, usei o uretano Emerald para pintar gabinetes de carvalho com spray e fiquei muito satisfeito com os resultados. Este produto não deve ser confundido com a pintura interna Esmeralda comum. A versão de uretano é um alquídico modificado à base de água, ideal para uso em guarnições, portas e armários. Eu estava realmente cético quanto ao uso deste produto porque não sou um fã da pintura regular Emerald para interiores, mas as duas tintas são completamente diferentes.

O nível de tinta está bom?

Ao pintar gabinetes e portas, use uma tinta que nivele. Se for usado um revestimento anti-nivelamento, o material não se espalhará na superfície, causando acúmulo desigual de tinta e imperfeições para secar exatamente como ficam quando pulverizado.

Eu pulverizei gabinetes de carvalho pintados com este produto e descobri que ele nivelava excepcionalmente bem sobre duas camadas lixadas de primer BIN shellac. A primeira camada ficou melhor nivelada do que a segunda. Descobri que a segunda demão precisava ser pulverizada com mais força para aumentar a tinta e nivelar. Pulverizar a segunda camada muito rápido resultaria em uma textura que não nivelaria muito.

Comparado com a qualidade de nivelamento do Pro Classic, descobri que o uretano Emerald tem o mesmo desempenho, se não melhor. Pulverizei e armazenei as portas do armário horizontalmente, usando os racks do Pintor de Porta, e a tinta nivelada nas portas uniformemente, sem respingos.

Devo também mencionar que uso o enchimento de grãos Aqua Coat antes de aplicar o primer e pintar gabinetes de carvalho com essa tinta. O enchimento, combinado com duas camadas de primer e tinta, atinge um acabamento realmente liso.

Dureza da tinta

Um dos motivos pelos quais eu quis experimentar este produto em gabinetes é porque ele deve secar mais difícil do que a tinta de acabamento básica, e usar uma tinta de uretano tornaria a superfície mais durável para limpeza. Não há necessidade de revestir a tinta com um revestimento transparente.

O uretano Sherwin Williams Emerald seca visivelmente mais difícil do que o Pro Classic. A tinta não é pegajosa ou macia depois de curada. Quando removo as portas do armário para borrifá-las, numero o verso e colo um pequeno pedaço de fita azul sobre ele. Remover a fita adesiva das portas no final do trabalho foi difícil. Tive que raspar a fita com bastante força para retirá-la da tinta seca.

O tempo de repintura para esta tinta é de quatro horas. A tinta estava seca ao toque por volta dessa época. A última demão de tinta secou entre quatro e seis horas. Deixei as portas assentadas em minhas prateleiras de secagem em meu espaço de trabalho por vários dias antes de embrulhar e entregá-las ao meu cliente para instalação.

Descobri que a tinta estava visivelmente mais dura ao toque depois de dois dias, passando no teste da unha. O acabamento da tinta em si é mais duro do que outras tintas que usei. Enrolei as portas pintadas em cobertores móveis e os entreguei ao meu cliente sem problemas.

O Acabamento Semibrilhante

Usei o acabamento semibrilhante nos gabinetes que pintei. Um acabamento acetinado e brilhante também está disponível. Minha loja Sherwin Williams recomendou o acabamento semibrilhante para gabinetes porque disseram que o acabamento acetinado é muito fosco. O acabamento semibrilhante do uretano esmeralda é semelhante ao semibrilhante Pro Classic, mas talvez um pouco mais brilhante.

Já li reclamações online de pessoas dizendo que o acabamento semibrilhante era fosco, mas, em minha experiência, duas camadas de semibrilhante sobre duas camadas de primer de goma-laca BIN eram o brilho perfeito para armários. Até o primeiro casaco parecia muito brilhante, mas o segundo casaco parecia ainda melhor. O acabamento semibrilhante é muito liso, perfeito para lavar.

O preço

Na minha opinião, é extremamente caro. O preço normal do esmalte de uretano esmeralda começa em US $ 89 por galão. Sim, são $ 89 por galão sem descontos ou cupons. Se você estiver pintando armários, precisará de apenas dois a três galões, mas ainda assim, é muito dinheiro para pintar.

Se você ainda não tem uma conta de loja estabelecida com preços de tintas com desconto, a Sherwin Williams tem de 30% a 40% de desconto nas vendas de tintas ao longo do ano, o que economiza muito dinheiro se você for paciente e esperar pela próxima venda. Você também pode se inscrever para uma conta de cobrança Pro em sua loja local da Sherwin Williams para obter preços com desconto.

Eu também recomendo se inscrever para a opção Paint Perks para obter códigos de cupom de tinta e suprimentos por mensagem de texto. Recebo notificações de promoções de descontos semanalmente.

Sherwin Williams Emerald Urethane vale a pena?

Só usei este produto uma vez em gabinetes, até o momento, mas estou muito satisfeito com os resultados. Se algo mudar, atualizarei este comentário. Não posso comentar sobre seu desempenho para aplicação com pincel e rolo, já que só pulverizei com pulverizador airless, mas para pulverizar a tinta nivela muito bem e seca mais forte do que outras tintas que usei.

Na minha experiência, essa tinta não cai facilmente em superfícies verticais, ao contrário do Pro Classic, que pode ser um pesadelo de se trabalhar se você não tomar cuidado. Eu borrifei duas camadas grossas de Esmeralda nas caixas de parede do armário e não tive problemas com tinta pingando. A tinta nivela, mas mantém-se no lugar sem descair, o que gosto muito.

Esta tinta cheira a Play Doh. Uma máscara é definitivamente necessária ao trabalhar com este produto, especialmente se você estiver pulverizando. O odor perdura por um tempo, provavelmente devido à modificação alquídica.

Não posso comentar como este produto se compara a tintas como Cabinet Coat ou Break-Through, já que não usei esses produtos ainda, mas quando comparada com outras tintas de acabamento que usei da Sherwin Williams, esta é uma atualização sólida . O preço total de US $ 89 por galão está superfaturado, então, definitivamente, aproveite as opções de desconto disponíveis.

Perguntas e Respostas

Questão: Eu li alguns comentários que a tinta de uretano Sherwin Williams Emerald leva muito tempo para secar / curar. Como foi sua experiência nisso? Além disso, o descascamento pode substituir o lixamento?

Responda: O tempo de seca não é ruim. O tempo de repintura é de quatro horas, mas tudo depende da temperatura do ar. O primeiro casaco demorou cerca de seis horas para secar porque borrifei as portas da minha garagem e estava quente e úmido. A segunda camada secou em cerca de três horas. A tinta seca muito no dia seguinte. Não, você deve sempre lixar.

Questão: Como o uretano Sherwin Williams Emerald é uma mistura, que redutor devo usar para essa tinta de acabamento para um pulverizador?

Responda: Se você está se referindo a diluição, não é necessário diluir essa tinta para um pulverizador sem ar; ele sai bem da lata. Você precisa diluir se estiver usando um pulverizador HVLP, mas não tenho idéia da proporção ou do que usar, pois ainda não tive que fazer isso com o produto. Eu recomendo entrar em contato com sua loja Sherwin Williams para uma recomendação.

Questão: Você está lixando entre camadas de tinta? Eu li sim e não, se você fizer, qual areia você usa?

Responda: Sim, lixei entre demãos de primer e uma vez antes de pintar. Eu costumo usar grão 220.

Questão: Pintamos (pulverizamos 2 demãos) os armários da cozinha com uma base de óleo de cetim SW com kilz como base. A tinta se separou e depois de 30 dias a tinta riscou até o forno quando duas portas bateram uma na outra. SW sugeriu esta tinta de uretano. Eles disseram para lixar a tinta à base de óleo e borrifar no uretano. O que você acha da tinta aderindo à tinta à base de óleo?

Responda: A tinta está descascando porque não está aderindo ao primer, e o primer provavelmente não está aderindo à superfície também. Se você usou primer de látex Kilz, esse é o motivo. Também pode ser a tinta a óleo que você usou não é compatível com o primer, ou a superfície não foi preparada corretamente com a limpeza e lixamento. A tinta a óleo não deve riscar. Pintar sobre isso não resolverá o problema. Retire a tinta do gabinete e o primer até a madeira e comece de novo. Limpe e lixe os gabinetes, aplique primer OIL como Cover Stain ou goma laca como BIN e aplique duas camadas de uretano esmeralda.

Questão: Eu tenho uma pequena frente de gaveta que precisava ser refeita usando hard maple, você tem sucesso com um primer em uma lata de spray?

Responda: Sherwin Williams Pro Block, Zinsser Cover Stain ou BIN são boas opções. Todos os três estão disponíveis em uma lata de spray. A cartilha Sherwin Williams você só pode comprar em suas lojas, mas as outras duas são vendidas online e na maioria das lojas de materiais de construção.

Questão: Posso usar o primer BIN shellac com o esmalte esmeralda por cima? obrigado

Responda: Sim. Preparo armários com goma-laca BIN e os pinto com uretano esmeralda.

Questão: Quanto tempo essa tinta deve levar para curar? Eu usei em algumas estantes.

Responda: A tinta seca em cerca de 4 a 6 horas, mas o tempo de secagem depende da umidade e da temperatura do ar. A tinta endurece cerca de um dia após a aplicação. Eu esperaria alguns dias, ou mais, antes de colocar livros ou qualquer coisa pesada na tinta fresca.

Questão: Acabamos de fazer um orçamento para nossa cozinha usando essa tinta exata. Este homem cobra $ 100 por porta e gaveta do armário. (Temos também algumas áreas de parede grandes que vão ser pintadas, mas estão incluídas neste preço). Temos um total de 37 portas de armário e gavetas. Parece um preço justo, que inclui tinta e mão de obra? Agradeço sua opinião.

Responda: Sim, acho que o preço parece justo. A pintura e preparação do gabinete consome muito tempo e 37 portas é uma grande cozinha.

Questão: Você usou alguma outra cor além do branco com essa tinta da Sherwin Williams? Estou descobrindo que a tinta preta não está curando corretamente e não passou no teste de arranhão com minha unha. Eu usei o branco e não passou nenhum problema em um dia. O preto que tenho está saindo entre as camadas.

Responda: Sim, usei este produto em cores mais escuras. As cores escuras, especialmente o preto, são muito mais coloridas. Quanto mais matiz, mais tempo leva para o esmalte curar, portanto, o acabamento ficará mais macio por mais tempo. Deixe a tinta secar. Você também pode colocar travas de porta no interior das portas para que a tinta fresca não grude quando as portas forem fechadas. Anexe-os também às gavetas. Você também pode deixar as portas abertas por um ou dois dias.

Questão: Tenho armários de carvalho de ótimo formato e quero pintá-los. Estou pensando em usar o primer bond e esmeralda Sherwin Williams (os lados são laminados). Essa pintura vai ficar ruim?

Responda: Os lados laminados parecerão mais lisos do que a parte de carvalho quando pintados. Não use primer de látex nos armários. Aplicar primer com óleo ou BIN. O primer Extreme Bond é adequado se os gabinetes já estiverem pintados.

Questão: Eu amo Sherin Williams Emerald Urethane para armários, mas apenas escovei e enrolei. Tenho um pequeno pulverizador que requer diluição. A diluição dessa tinta a torna menos durável? É importante revestir com uma camada transparente?

Responda: O desbaste excessivo pode reduzir o brilho do acabamento, portanto, sim, desbastar demais pode reduzir a durabilidade se o acabamento for menos liso e menos lavável. Se você seguir as especificações do extensor que está usando e adicionar uma pequena quantidade para o que é recomendado, uma redução de brilho não será perceptível. A tinta por si só é lavável o suficiente sem uma demão clara, mas você pode pintá-la por cima.

Questão: Quero pintar meus armários de cozinha de cinza em carvalho inacabado. Posso usar o semi-brilho Sherwin Williams Emerald como acabamento ou só funciona em armários pintados de branco?

Responda: Os armários precisam ser limpos, lixados e preparados primeiro, então você pode pintá-los de cinza com Esmeralda.

Questão: Preparando-se para borrifar uma camada final deste produto em um trabalho do qual os outros caras foram demitidos porque são hacks. Só estou curioso se você reduziu para hvlp ou se usou uma ponta acabada e uma sem ar. Ainda não usamos este?

Responda: Quando eu aplico gabinetes de pintura, uso uma ponta Graco 210 FFLP (verde) com meu airless. Um bico 310 também é bom, mas menos pulverização com o 210. Você não precisa reduzir o uretano Esmeralda com um airless. Nunca pulverizei este produto através de um HVLP, mas você definitivamente terá que reduzir a tinta nesse caso.

Questão: Existe uma cor específica de branco que você seleciona para gabinetes com semibrilho? Além disso, um pouco de assunto, mas quando você está fazendo trabalhos, você pulveriza o interior dos armários e as estantes desses projetos? Última pergunta, qual é o melhor pulverizador DIY para esta tinta?

Responda: Em armários, usei vários brancos da Sherwin Williams. Alguns brancos que usei são Snowbound, West Highland White, Creamy e Extra White. Normalmente, só borrifo o interior de armários se houver portas de vidro ou se meu cliente solicitar. Eu uso o equipamento de pulverização Graco e definitivamente recomendo essa marca. Na verdade, escrevi um artigo sobre o pulverizador que uso.

Questão: Qual cor de base você usou para o esmalte de acabamento de uretano esmeralda? Estou tentando decidir a partir deste site: https: //www.sherwin-williams.com/homeowners/produc ...

Responda: Usei a cor Snowbound de Sherwin Williams. Esta cor tem uma base extra branca. Se você está se referindo à cor por baixo da tinta, eu preparo todos os meus gabinetes com primer de goma-laca BIN, que é branco.

Questão: Qual pulverizador você usou sem ter que diluir este produto? Eu usei uma vez, mas tive que diluir para que passasse pelo servidor de forma adequada.

Responda: Eu borrifo uretano Emerald através do meu pulverizador airless Graco 495, usando uma ponta FFLP tamanho 212 (cor verde). Pulveriza bem através do meu pulverizador sem diluir.

Questão: Que primer você usou com Sherwin Williams Emerald Urethane e teve que aplicar um selador depois?

Responda: Eu uso o primer BIN shellac. Fui aconselhado por minha loja Sherwin Williams local para não pulverizar selante sobre este produto.

Questão: Você envia entre camadas de tinta? Estou fazendo 2 camadas de primer e lixando entre elas. Prevendo fazer 3 demãos de tinta, preciso lixar entre a 1ª e a 2ª demão?

Responda: Normalmente lixei apenas entre as camadas de primer e entre a última camada de primer e a primeira camada de tinta. Se eu vir algo preso na tinta (poeira, migalhas etc.), lixarei entre as camadas de tinta. Se você lixar entre demãos de tinta, certifique-se de usar uma granulação fina, caso contrário, você deixará marcas de arranhões na tinta com muita facilidade. Use uma esponja de lixa 320 para os detalhes.

Questão: Pulverizei algumas portas de armários um pouco pesadas demais com a tinta esmeralda e algumas delas precisam ser repintadas ... esta tinta lixa bem entre as camadas ou eu preciso desmontá-las e aplicá-las novamente?

Responda: Sim, o uretano esmeralda lixa bem com lixamento úmido. Molhe uma esponja de lixa em água morna e lixe suavemente as gotas de tinta para removê-las.

Questão: Você menciona uma dica 210 e 212 em suas respostas. Qual tamanho atira melhor o esmalte de uretano esmeralda? Acabei de fazer um teste com uma 314 e há pequenos furos e manchas após a primeira demão. Talvez eu precise aumentar a pressão?

Responda: Na verdade, comecei a usar uma ponta 208. Usei um bico 210 por muito tempo, mas o orifício menor do 208 me dá melhores resultados. Os pequenos furos são de pulverização muito fina em alguns pontos. Aumente a pressão e borrife as portas com alguns passes leves e rápidos. Pode parecer muito claro no início quando você pulveriza em passagens rápidas, mas o esmalte se forma depois de alguns minutos e parece mais espesso do que quando você o aplica. Isso é o que torna difícil de trabalhar no início. Você deseja pulverizar esmalte apenas o suficiente para que fique uniformemente revestido. Então você não terá mais os furos. Você também pode estar pulverizando longe da superfície.

Questão: Quando pulverizo gabinetes, obtenho bolhas de ar, por quê?

Responda: As bolhas de ar podem se formar por vários motivos. Você não mencionou quando as bolhas estão se formando ou o tipo de pulverizador com o qual está pulverizando. Pequenas bolhas se formam imediatamente se você pulverizar uma camada muito fina. Isso acontece mais na segunda camada por algum motivo. Os esmaltes são espessos e não traçam sem a espessura correta aplicada. As bolhas também podem se formar se houver ar dentro da linha de pulverização, supondo que você esteja usando um pulverizador sem ar. Outra possível razão é a contaminação dentro da linha de pulverização, ou na superfície, você está pulverizando. Certifique-se de que lavou bem o pulverizador com água limpa antes de pulverizar o esmalte. Certifique-se de que a superfície também esteja limpa. Pulverizar uma camada muito espessa também pode causar problemas. Quando a tinta é borrifada muito forte, a superfície começa a deslizar antes que a tinta mais abaixo tenha secado, então ela começa a liberar gás pela parte superior, criando bolhas de ar. A sala também pode estar muito seca.

Questão: Se já tivermos o grão cheio e estivermos rolando o primer BIN, calafetamos primeiro ou depois do primer? também queríamos SW alto reflexo branco no esmalte esmeralda, porém eles disseram que têm alto couro branco que é a base da lata. Você já usou essa cor como acabamento antes?

Responda: Eu geralmente calafetava antes de pulverizar a primeira camada de primer. Se estiver aplicando um segundo de primer, você pode apenas calafetar entre as camadas. Eu gosto de preparar a calafetagem para selá-la, mas mesmo se você calafetar após a aplicação, está tudo bem. Sim, High Hide White é a cor de base para este esmalte antes que a tonalidade seja adicionada. A cor de base era Extra White antes, mas eles mudaram para High Hide White, que é um pouco diferente. A cor de base é um branco brilhante. Eu já pulverizei gabinetes apenas com a cor de base antes, mas a maioria dos meus clientes usa um branco matizado. Eu usei muito o Snowbound.

Questão: Estou me preparando para pintar meus armários preparados agora com isso agora e quero ter certeza de não estragar as costas por não esperar o tempo suficiente antes de virá-los. Meu escorredor de roupas é uma escada com tubos de PVC passando pelos degraus. A camada posterior 1 seca em cerca de 4 horas. Devo aplicar uma segunda camada e verificar entre 4-6 horas ou durante a noite antes de virá-los para iniciar as frentes?

Responda: Você provavelmente terá que deixá-los endurecer durante a noite antes de virá-los. Mesmo que a tinta esteja seca ao toque em 4 a 6 horas, ela ficará macia e estragará facilmente quando virada. Coloque panos macios ou toalhas por baixo das portas para proteger a pintura.

Questão: Quando o usei, descobri que se saía muito melhor em temperaturas mais frias. Eu também usei isso em uma garagem quente no verão. Era muito mais difícil conseguir o acabamento desejado. Você já teve problemas com o uretano Sherwin Williams Emerald no calor do verão? Você, o escritor do artigo, alguma vez encheu o grão de carvalho com uma pedra dura?

Responda: Não, mas a temperatura desempenha um papel importante no acabamento e no tempo de secagem. Expor a tinta úmida ao calor e umidade altos não é bom. Usei a massa dura de Durham para consertar buracos nas portas de armários, mas não como enchimento de grãos. A massa é muito difícil de lixar. Eu não tentaria usá-lo como enchimento de grãos. Ter que lixar aquela massa de mais de 20 portas e molduras de armário seria um pesadelo, mesmo com uma lixadeira elétrica. Composto comum comum, ou Aqua Coat, funciona muito bem e lixa facilmente.

Questão: Você pulverizou as portas do armário deitadas. Como você pintou as molduras do armário? Você pintou o interior das caixas?

Responda: Sim, eu removo as portas dos armários e as borrifo fora do local, estendendo-as em uma prateleira de pintura que me permite virar a porta para que possa borrifar os dois lados em uma sessão. As portas são armazenadas em um escorredor de pratos com barras curvas que não fazem contato direto com a tinta úmida. Não pulverizo o interior das caixas dos armários, a menos que haja portas de vidro onde o interior seja visível. As aberturas do gabinete são cobertas com plástico para que tudo possa ser pulverizado. Eu não escovo e rolo armários. Tudo é pulverizado, inclusive o primer.

Questão: Qual primer devo usar nos gabinetes pintados de fábrica e envidraçados da Kraftmaid? Não tenho certeza se o primer à base de óleo funcionará, pois não sei que tipo de tinta o Kraftmaid usa. Lixar tudo até a madeira seria impossível, dada a quantidade de detalhes neles.

Responda: Lixar e aplicar primer nos gabinetes pintados de fábrica com óleo base antes de aplicar a nova tinta deve ser adequado, mas é uma boa ideia entrar em contato com o fabricante também para verificar a compatibilidade entre os produtos.

Questão: Posso usar um esmalte antigo sobre o semi-brilho esmeralda Sherwin Williams (usei o branco antigo) e, em caso afirmativo, posso selá-lo com uma camada de poliuretano?

Responda: Você pode, mas minha loja Sherwin Williams local aconselhou contra isso quando eu ia fazer o envidraçamento em um de meus projetos de gabinete porque eles não tinham certeza sobre a compatibilidade entre o uretano Emerald e as camadas superiores de seu esmalte e poliéster Faux Impressions. Você pode querer falar com sua loja SW local sobre isso, mas se você aplicar esmalte, certifique-se de que a Esmeralda está totalmente curada antes de aplicar o esmalte. Eu também testaria em uma porta antes de vitrificar tudo. Definitivamente, você desejará aplicar poli sobre o esmalte, pois o esmalte sozinho não será durável o suficiente para armários.

Questão: O cara da loja me disse que eu não precisava preparar esse produto, é verdade?

Responda: A necessidade ou não de primer depende da superfície que você está pintando. O esmalte de uretano esmeralda não deve ser aplicado diretamente sobre madeira não pintada sem limpar, lixar e aplicar primer primeiro com selador. Se estiver pintando sobre uma superfície previamente pintada ou madeira pré-preparada de fábrica, você pode simplesmente limpar a superfície, raspar a areia e aplicar o esmalte. Se o cara da loja disse que esse produto pode ser aplicado sem primer, aconteça o que acontecer, ele se engana.

Questão: Usei a tinta Emerald Urethane em meus armários, quanto tempo devo esperar antes de pendurar as portas?

Responda: Deixe as portas e caixilhos secarem alguns dias antes de instalá-los.

Questão: Pintei os gabinetes com a esmeralda 2 camadas sobre 2 camadas de primer, agora, 2 dias depois, a tinta desaparece em locais onde a água foi usada para limpar. Quanto tempo leva para definir para limpeza?

Responda: Você não especificou que tipo de primer foi usado nos gabinetes ou se a superfície foi limpa e lixada. O melhor primer é o óleo ou goma-laca branca (BIN). Se você usou primer de látex, provavelmente essa é a razão pela qual o acabamento está fraco e raspando. Você também está limpando os armários muito cedo depois de pintá-los. A tinta é macia no início e precisa endurecer mais antes de ser limpa com água. A pintura leva uns bons trinta dias para curar completamente. Você deve esperar pelo menos algumas semanas antes de limpar a tinta fresca com água. Tendo trabalhado com este produto muitas vezes, eu suspeito que o desgaste da tinta dessa forma é mais do que provavelmente o resultado da exposição da tinta nova à água, ou o primer errado foi usado. Se você não lixasse também, a superfície poderia ser muito lisa e brilhante, e isso poderia ter contribuído para o problema.

Questão: Estou pintando meus armários de cozinha de carvalho. Preparamos com Cover-stain, mas cometemos o erro de fazê-lo sob o sol direto com pincel e rolo. Fizemos 2 camadas de primer muito pesadas e agora a área de acabamento parece horrível. Tivemos que lixar como um louco, mas o acabamento detalhado parece ruim, ainda assim é pegajoso. Estou perdido e não sei o que fazer para consertar?

Responda: Você tem que deixar o Cover Stain secar durante a noite antes de lixá-lo, caso contrário ele fica macio e não lixa tão facilmente. O primer de óleo leva mais tempo para curar. Depois de deixar secar, o primer se transforma em um pó fino. No seu caso, você terá que dar mais tempo para endurecer porque foi aplicado muito pesado. Use uma esponja de lixar para lixar.

Questão: Eu usei um primer de látex em armários de madeira de carvalho e ele sangra por duas camadas de primer. Posso usar tinta Emerald Urethane para alterar a cor dos gabinetes?

Responda: O primer de látex não veda a madeira para evitar que escorra e não se cola bem a armários de madeira. Também é muito macio. Primer a óleo, ou primer BIN goma-laca, são ótimas opções para evitar sangramento e obter uma forte ligação com a superfície e a tinta. Retire o primer de látex dos gabinetes e imprima-os com primer de óleo ou BIN. Se você pintar Esmeralda sobre o látex, não ajudará em nada. O primer de látex é o problema.

Questão: Eu tenho o Graco X7 e o Ultra portátil. Qual tamanho de ponta você achou que funciona melhor para pulverizar essa tinta?

Responda: Eu uso as dicas Graco FFLP. Os tamanhos 208 e 210 são os melhores.

Questão: Você pode cobrir a tinta de uretano esmeralda com um poliuretano à base de água? Usei o acabamento acetinado e é muito liso para o meu gosto.

Responda: Você não mencionou se pintou os armários com duas camadas ou apenas uma. Duas camadas são mais brilhantes e mais lisas do que uma. Não usei poliuretano sobre este produto. Tenho certeza que ficaria bem, mas o revestimento transparente às vezes pode mudar um pouco a cor da tinta, ou amarelá-la. Mesmo sendo claro, o filme tem um pouco de cor.

Questão: Você teve algum sucesso ou desafio usando Emerald Urethane Sherwin Williams em cores mais escuras (por exemplo, azul marinho, cinza escuro)?

Responda: Sim, eu pulverizei este produto em cinza escuro em gabinetes sem nenhum desafio.

Questão: Estou usando uma Nova 390. Fiz 2 camadas de primer látex SW Extreme Bond e 2 camadas de Uretano SW Emerald em portas cruas. Eu tenho lixado entre demãos para ver se há respingos e gotas. Meu polimento leve com 1.500 papéis se transformou em lixa 220 em alguns pontos e minha superfície super lisa agora está sem brilho. Devo lixar / polir levemente entre as camadas de primer ou devo borrifar 2 camadas e, em seguida, lixar / polir levemente?

Responda: Em portas cruas, eu teria preparado com BIN, ou primer de óleo. Lixe entre a primeira e a segunda demão e antes de pulverizar a primeira demão de tinta. Eu uso uma esponja 220 grit. Você só precisa limpar a areia. Dá a você um acabamento mais liso e remove os detritos presos no primer.

Questão: Estou entre as mesmas etapas com os mesmos produtos e encontrei sua ótima postagem. Eu escovei as portas no lugar com a caixa com duas camadas uniformes que estou planejando para lixar à mão para os grãos da madeira, mas estou notando que a base da caixa não fica tão alta quanto estou acostumada. É durável usar um enchimento entre o escovador e a pulverização de uretano esmeralda?

Responda: Sim, você pode preencher o grão após o primer com BIN, mas o enchimento deve ser preparado para selar. Se você aplicar o enchimento após o BIN, às vezes o enchimento puxa o tanino da madeira para a direita através da primeira camada primária. É por isso que é sempre melhor, pelo menos para mim, preencher primeiro o grão, lixar e preparar duas camadas para evitar esses problemas. Duas camadas de BIN proporcionam uma espessura mais alta e melhor vedação, além disso, sua tinta terá um desempenho melhor com duas camadas primárias. Remover as portas e colocá-las planas para aplicar o primer também é melhor para nivelar os grãos do que aplicá-las penduradas.

Questão: Estou instalando uretano SW Emerald com uma pistola Home Right Super Finish Max HLVP usando sua ponta verde (2,0 mm). O problema que estou tendo é que a tinta está cuspindo, não pulverizando, independentemente da taxa de fluxo que estou usando. Devido às propriedades de nivelamento muito boas da tinta, o acabamento não é ruim, mas também não é liso. A arma veio com duas outras pontas, uma de 1,5 mm e outra de 4,0 mm. O que posso fazer para parar de cuspir?

Responda: Não estou familiarizado com o pulverizador que você está usando. Eu uso um pulverizador Graco sem ar. O uretano esmeralda é espesso e provavelmente precisará ser diluído para passar pelo pulverizador HVLP. Essa é provavelmente a razão pela qual está cuspindo com frequência. Você pode tentar diluir o esmalte. Verifique se o pulverizador está obstruído.

Questão: Se você molha com areia um gotejamento ou escorrimento, você lixa até o primer? E depois pulverizar, retocar com pincel ou rolo?

Responda: Lixe o gotejamento até que fique nivelado com a superfície. Você não tem que moer até a base. Retoque a superfície da mesma forma que aplicou a tinta (pulverizador, pincel, rolo, etc). Dessa forma, o retoque vai se misturar melhor. Se você retocar uma superfície pulverizada com um pincel, ela não se misturará bem com o acabamento ao redor.

Questão: Você está usando o esmalte esmeralda ou esmalte aparado ou há uma diferença?

Responda: Eu uso esmalte de uretano esmeralda. Este produto é ótimo para portas, armários e acabamentos.

Questão: Você pode usar esmalte de uretano para selar tinta de giz?

Responda: O uretano esmeralda não é um selante. Se você quiser selar sua tinta com giz, o uso de selador primário selará o revestimento e fornecerá uma boa camada de adesão para o esmalte da guarnição na parte superior.

Questão: Você pode lixar corridas ou defeitos em armários?

Responda: Sim, a melhor forma de lixar corridas é lixando-as úmidas com uma esponja embebida em água morna. Deixe a tinta secar durante a noite e ela irá lixar mais suavemente sem deixar marcas na tinta. Às vezes, se você lixar corre muito cedo, ela se rompe ou se abre. Então você terá que remendar. Este produto molha muito bem a minha experiência.

Questão: Pretendo pintar armários laminados, você me recomenda um primer?

Responda: Sim, você definitivamente precisa preparar os gabinetes laminados. Eu usaria o primer Zinsser BIN. Funciona muito bem em várias superfícies, incluindo laminados. Também é excelente para pulverizar. O primer é muito fino e deixa um acabamento liso quando pulverizado com um pulverizador airless ou HVLP.

Questão: Se vou manchar meus feios armários de carvalho amarelo / laranja, que lixa devo usar para evitar arranhar a madeira. Além disso, preciso aplicar uma camada superior de poliuretano?

Responda: Eu não seria mais áspero do que grão 120. Gosto de usar grão 150 no primeiro lixamento para remover o verniz, depois uso grão 220 entre as camadas. Se você for mais áspero do que grão 220 entre as camadas, provavelmente verá marcas de arranhões na pintura. Você não precisa aplicar uma camada transparente, mas pode. A tinta é lavável. Eu uso muito o acabamento acetinado.

Questão: Você usa algum enchimento de grãos antes de pintar para obter aquele acabamento liso?

Responda: Sim, ao pintar armários de carvalho com uretano esmeralda, uso o enchimento de grãos que vinculei em meu artigo, que inclui minha análise completa desse produto.

Questão: que cor você usou na pele de uretano esmeralda branco ou branco extra?

Responda: Usei várias cores diferentes com o uretano Esmeralda, incluindo Hi Hide White, que é uma das cores básicas (sem tonalidade) para este produto que substituiu a base Extra White.

Questão: Você usou primer à base de goma-laca BIN ou goma-laca sintética? Existe alguma diferença? É inflamável?

Responda: Eu uso o primer BIN shellac comum (inflamável), não a versão sintética, que é à base de água com resina acrílica. Nunca usei BIN sintético, mas ouvi dizer que ele não tem o mesmo desempenho do BIN normal. Por ser um primer à base de água, hesitaria em usar a versão sintética como selante de superfície e sub-revestimento para sua tinta. É inflamável? Provavelmente não, já que é à base de água, mas honestamente não tenho certeza se há produtos químicos inflamáveis ​​misturados a esse produto. O pulverizador que você está usando deve ser selado para pulverizar com segurança material inflamável, como o primer BIN shellac original ou primer à base de óleo. Você pode alugar um pulverizador selado profissional que possa pulverizar materiais inflamáveis ​​com segurança ou comprar um.

Questão: Estou pulverizando Emerald em alguns armários. 2 cores, cetim. A cor principal é SW Snowbound, e a cor da ilha é SW City Shadow (cinza). Depois de 2 camadas, o cinza era suave como manteiga, o off-white, nem tanto. Tentei pontas diferentes, proporções de desbaste diferentes, configurações de estande diferentes, sem nenhuma diferença na sensação do esmeralda branca. Alguma dica?

Responda: O uretano esmeralda tem um bom layout por conta própria, sem diluir, mas se o brilho do cetim estiver opaco e não liso, é possível que você tenha diluído demais e diluído. Se você adicionar muito extensor ou água, o brilho diminui. O acabamento acetinado deve ser ligeiramente brilhante e liso. Outra consideração é o primer que foi usado. Isso desempenha um papel no resultado da pintura. Os gabinetes também devem ser limpos cuidadosamente e lixados antes da aplicação de primer e pintura.

Questão: Which would you recommend for durability and less yellowing: oil-based pro classic or emerald urethane? I will be doing Alabaster on hickory cabinets. Also, with bin do I need to use grain filler?

Responda: Oil-based enamel will yellow over time, so I would go with Emerald urethane. It doesn't yellow. You only need grain filler if the wood is grainy like oak. If you only need to fill holes, or damaged areas, use wood filler.

Questão: I am using this paint on a large bookshelf. I used the oil-based primer (2 coats) and the emerald paint. This is in my home schoolroom and the shelves will be used heavily. How long should I wait after painting before I can start piling books on my shelves?

Responda: I would wait a few days before putting your books back onto the shelves. The paint takes a day or two to harden.

Mack on August 30, 2020:

310 and 210 let the same amount of material through. A 310 gives a 6" fan and a 210 gives a 4" fan. Double the first number and that equals the fan size at 12" away. The second two numbers are the orifice size.

Mack on August 30, 2020:

*successfully convert, not successfully complete covert, lol. My phone's auto correct is horrible

Mack on August 30, 2020:

I forgot to add that everyone loves the look of the satin finish in my part of the woods (west coast,) but it's the feel to the hand over the finish that is not preferred, or should I say the "touch." If you are spraying and want a finer finish in a waterbased topcoat, most people successfully complete covert over to the Pro Industrial Waterbased Alkyd Urethane line, the sheen is called low-gloss, which is not a good product to brush and roll. It is more of a professional line, whereas the Emerald is more of a DIY line.

Matt G. (autor) from United States on August 30, 2020:

I use Graco sprayers. I'm not familiar with the Wagner sprayer you mentioned, but airless sprayers can usually handle enamel. If you have problems atomizing the enamel you can thin it. Either size tip is fine, but for doors, the 310 tip is better. I use a 310 tip for my cabinet painting projects.

Allie Hunter on August 30, 2020:

I will be painting my kitchen cabinets with Emerald using a Wagner pro 130 airless sprayer. Is Emerald too thick for this airless? Will a 210 or 310 tip

Matt G. (autor) from United States on August 28, 2020:

The 400 grit didn't ruin anything, you're fine. I would use 220 to sand the primer and 320 for the enamel if you sand between coats.

Adriana on August 28, 2020:

Thank you for this article, so much useful information! I just wish I found it earlier as I already painted the first coat on some of my cabinet doors.

In general, I think I did a good job preparing my doors. I used AquaCoat to fill the grain and two coats of BIN shellac primer but I think I messed up the sanding part. I used 400 grit sandpaper in between primer coats, will that affect the final result? Should I sand with again the remaining doors with a 220?

Thanks a lot!

Matt G. (autor) from United States on August 26, 2020:

Obrigado por compartilhar. I sprayed this product a lot and haven't had any complaints about the satin finish or experienced any gritty texture with it. The finish is more dull than semi-gloss which some folks might not like. But the semi-gloss is extremely glossy and had a plastic look to it when I used it before. The customer wished she would have used satin because the finish was too shiny for her liking. It all boils down to personal preference.

Mack on August 25, 2020:

I hear all day long how the finish of Emerald Urethane Trim Enamel in a Satin sheen, has a gritty finish. That unfortunately is the nature of the product. The flattening agents used in the product are what is contributing to some of the texture that you feel. I've had a lot of people not like the product because of it, both homeowners and cabinet finishers alike. The semi-gloss does not have the same issues.

Matt G. (autor) from United States on August 22, 2020:

Sonny,

I've never sprayed with the handheld sprayer you used, but those sprayers have very small pumps. The pump likely isn't powerful enough to atomize the enamel into a fine finish. This is why you were getting the uneven spray pattern. The enamel is thick. You can try thinning it, or use a different sprayer. The pin hole texturing is from laying it on too thin. Emerald urethane is a little tricky to spray. Pro Classic acrylic enamel is easier to spray.

Sonny on August 19, 2020:

I used a Graco Ultimate (corded handheld) with a 210 tip to spray my cabinet doors. At first, by mistake, I used Emerald interior latex. The finish was near perfect!! I had the gun set to a 7. I later realized and switched to the Emerald urethane enamel. I initially tried the 210 tip and same speed, but the finish was very gritty like it had pieces of sand in it, almost like I was getting trails overlapped into sections. I’m not sure. So, I switched the tip to a 212 and it turned out even worse, very orange peely. I then turned the speed up to 10, the finish was better, but now there are pin holes and the tip tends to spit a little towards the end. Also, to be clear I sanded the finish smooth and started fresh each time. What am I doing wrong!!??

Mack em 10 de agosto de 2020:

So... I dunno if you are aware, but regardless of they "hybrid" technology, any water based paint, is going to fully cure after 30 days. There is a difference in dry time and cure time. Dry time means you can recoat or handle it. Cure time means when all of the polymeres have finally set or linked into their place. So, the dry time (which means to-the-touch,) but not the cure time (which is when the paint fully hardens,) needs to be taken into account. Lacquers have the best turnover time, but even an alkyd (oil-based) paint is still going to take at least 2 weeks to cure (final hardness,) that includes Emerald Urethane Enamel. The water base makes it dry fast, the alkyd base makes it level out, and the Urethane base makes it dry harder. You are still looking at about 30 days to cure. So if you are noticing a fingernail test after a few days, imagine what it will do in 30!

Matt G. (autor) from United States on July 27, 2020:

Leah,

If you're brushing and rolling the vanity, one gallon would probably be fine. Don't use latex primer unless it's already painted and in good condition. Use oil-based primer if it's unpainted oak. I would advise against tinting the oil primer too. You can only use up to 2 ounces of colorant for oil primer, in most cases, but even following the specs, I've had problems tinting oil. The colorant impacts the dry time and the durability. In my experience, the primer doesn't stick to the surface as good as without colorant. It will take an extra coat of your navy enamel to cover over the white primer, but you won't have any durability problems.

Leah on July 27, 2020:

I was wondering how much of this paint to buy for a small bathroom vanity? I'm going to be using a navy color over oak but I plan to use primer first and am considering tinting the primer as well.

Matt G. (autor) from United States on July 26, 2020:

Mike,

The problem is the latex primer that was used on the cabinets. As you've learned, latex primer doesn't seal over tough stains and tannin. It also dries too soft for use as an undercoat on unpainted cabinets. Top coats of enamel over latex primer on unpainted wood results in a soft, unsealed finish, that isn't durable.

For unpainted cabinets, the store employee should have recommended their version of BIN, which is a white pigmented shellac primer, or their interior oil-based primer called Pro Block. If the cabinets would have been primed with either of those products, or BIN, the finish would be hard and durable without the fingerprint problem.

Another potential problem is over-thinning the paint. It's possible you thinned it with too much water, which reduces durability as well, but the latex primer for sure is the problem.

Another consideration is the paint color. You didn't mention if the color was white, or a darker color. If the paint was tinted to a dark color this slows down the cure time a lot. All of these things combined can cause problems.

If it were me, I would strip the cabinets and start over with BIN primer, or an oil-based primer, followed by two coats of the enamel, otherwise the cabinets won't be durable with that latex primer underneath.

Emerald urethane dries to a hard and washable finish when applied over the primer I mentioned. I would also spray it with an airless sprayer, which requires no thinning. When sprayed between 2,000 to 2,500 PSI, using the right size fine finish tip, the enamel lays out nice. I've sprayed it multiple times.

Matt G. (autor) from United States on July 26, 2020:

Thank you for the comment. I'm glad to hear my article helped you with the project. Yes, their paint sales can save you a lot of money. Their blue bucket sale is the big one. I load up on supplies when they run that sale a couple times per year.

Mike on July 24, 2020:

Thanks for the info Matt. We just finished spraying (older Wagner HVLP) our cabs with SW Emerald urethane and I wanted to share a few observations. First, I do not recommend the SW water-based primer that is marketed by SW alongside this paint. Although we did a good job cleaning the cabs, there are always going to be small areas with gunk that will bleed through, and the water based primer was terrible in this regard. The most used cab fronts had bleedthrough spots so I went and got a quart of BIN (shellac-based) and it sealed them up well. Second, although water-based has advantages, the cure time is just too long... I needed to thin this (5% max allowed according to SW) to get it to spray well, and our cabs still fail the fingernail test 10 days after spraying the last coat. I'm worried. One of our girls touched her toes to the side of the island 5 days after painting, and her prints are still there... Despite being 10 days out, if you rub a thumb (with some force, but not too hard), the semi-gloss finish is gone forever. This stuff is just too tacky for how long it has been.

Alejandra on July 24, 2020:

Thank you for the information. I actually just spray painted my kitchen cabinets using the Wagner sprayer and the SW Emerald paint you just mentioned.

It's the first time using this paint and also a sprayer. I'm a homemaker and I loved the finish.

It is exactly as you described. Tomorrow I'll be putting everything together, including the new hardware.

I did sign up for the Perks account to save money, and I was lucky that during the last week of painting they were running a sale.

Thank you again!

Matt G. (autor) from United States on July 09, 2020:

I would recommend Emerald urethane enamel over Super Paint. The enamel dries harder. Super Paint is good for walls. I wouldn't use it on cabinets.

Emerald or SuperPaint? on July 09, 2020:

I’ve seen you recommend both in your articles (I’m not wanting to use ProClassic because I am an amateur painter and I’ve heard it’s difficult to use). Would you suggest Emerald Urethane or SuperPaint for painting oak wood cabinets?

Obrigado!

Jessica on July 09, 2020:

I had my cabinets professionally painted with this product recently (sprayed) and they are definitely NOT passing the fingernail test. They scratch easily with a fingernail after over a week. Also, there's small amounts of caulk accumulated in all the corners of my shaker cabinets making them look kinda rounded. Should I be worried about the scratching of the paint or give it more time to cure? Should I be asking them to fix caulk? I don't know if I'm being unrealistic about the shaker edges being perfectly square and crisp.

Matt G. (autor) from United States on June 21, 2020:

Freddy,

I believe the aerosol version performs the same as far as sealing and priming, but I can't confirm this one hundred percent. I have used the aerosol version to do spot priming for various projects and the finish is different than spraying through an airless. I wouldn't use the aerosol can to spray primer over all of your cabinets. The finish will be less smooth than if you were to spray through an airless with high atomization. You're also going to need multiple cans. The tips on these cans clog more too in my experience.

Matt G. (autor) from United States on June 21, 2020:

Kevin,

I use a Titan 440 Impact and a Graco GX-19 Finish Pro for cabinet painting. One is for spraying primer and the other for paint. I wrote two articles about each of those sprayers. Check out my articles list if you'd like to read my reviews about them.

Freddy Belt on June 20, 2020:

Is it OK to use the aerosol version of the BIN shellac? Is it the same thing that using the regular one with my airless sprayer? I dont want to use my airless sprayer with oil paints for now.

Kevin Wunschel on June 20, 2020:

Matt,

I want to paint my kitchen cabinets. What type of airless sprayer did you use with Emeralds urethane paint?

Matt G. (autor) from United States on June 17, 2020:

Joseph,

If the paint on your cabinets is in good condition with no signs of corrosion or peeling you can scuff sand and apply the new coating, but I would lean more towards applying a latex bonding primer first to ensure a solid bond. It's up to you. If you're asking if you can use the cabinet paint on the drywall, yeah you can, but the wall should be sanded down first if it's glossy and primed with a latex bonding primer before painting it. The cabinets should be cleaned and scuff sanded before you prime and paint.

Matt G. (autor) from United States on June 17, 2020:

Kimber,

Sand the boxes with 220-grit to prevent scratching the wood. You don't have to sand it down to the bare wood, just enough to remove the lacquer. You can use coarser sandpaper if there's a thicker lacquer coating on the boxes. Priming with Pro Block oil primer is good, or BIN. I would use a micro fiber roller instead of a foam roller. The foam roller sometimes leaves bubbles in the paint for some reason. Sand between coats.

joseph halstead on June 16, 2020:

Hi Matt,

I have metal cabinets from the 50s-60s. They are still in good condition and I'm painting them. I used a Muralo latex product when I last painted them 12 years ago. Was gonna use Emerald Urethane this time. I assume I simply need to clean them and then use a 220 sandpaper. And then apply two coats. Just making sure there's no need to do anything else to the cabinets prior to painting. Then we also wanted to paint a wall in the kitchen with the same color paint. Could I use the same paint on this previously painted drywall wall? thanks for your help.

Kimber on May 26, 2020:

Hi Matt,

I am prepping to finally get to painting my new cabinet doors. I've kept the old cabinet boxes, as I completely remodeled my home and was trying to save where I could - I will be cleaning and sanding the boxes but the doors are unfinished pine/MDF ready for paint. I plan to paint with a foam roller (I know spraying is preferred, but my schedule doesn't allow me to rent a sprayer without having to return it immediately after without fear of keeping it for the next three weeks) and sand using my B&D Mouse, using the Sherwin Williams ProBlock and Sherwin Willians Emerald Urethane (when the 40% off rolls around again). What foam roller & sandpaper grit would you recommend? Is there anything else I should consider to try to make the best of the hours I'll be putting in to this?

Really appreciate all of your articles.

Michael Peyton on May 23, 2020:

Thanks again for your help Matt.

I really hope this helps someone else avoid the same headache.

I had reservations when I saw her mess up tinting the first batch. I wish I would have went with my gut and just used untintec BIN.

I will sand everything down to bare wood, reprime with nontinted BIN, and reapply the Emerald.

Matt G. (autor) from United States on May 23, 2020:

At this point, the finish and bond was comprised by over-tinting the BIN primer. The person at the store didn't know what they were doing and unknowingly overloaded it. The powder you're seeing is the extra colorant that separated from the pigment in the shellac. This primer doesn't react well with tint and can only be tinted with a max of 2 ounces of universal colorant. I looked up the specs to confirm and I was correct in my previous reply. I've had problems tinting BIN before so now I don't do it anymore, even with deep base colors.

The tinting issue is your main problem, but it's probably also too hot and humid in the garage.Try to control the air better with a small portable AC unit with fans and exhaust so the fumes are being filtered out and fresh air coming in.

Sand off the primer and paint and start over with either no tint in the primer, or no more than 2 ounces of colorant per the specs. If it were me, I wouldn't even tint the primer at all. It sucks to have to start over, but at least you'll feel confident the project will be done right the second time without bonding issues or a soft finish. I also highly recommend spraying instead of rolling. You can get a nice even finish and it's a lot faster.

Michael Peyton on May 23, 2020:

Thanks so much for your help Matt.

It looks like I have all of those things you mentioned in your response.

-Paint color is black so the base is Ultra Deep.

-I’m doing this in a garage and it has rained a lot in the last 10 days. The temp here in Nashville, Tennessee has been in the 70s for the most part.

-The primer was tinted - I’m not sure how much they put in, but it’s gray not white. The person at Lowes tinting it messed up the first batch and had to tint a new can. I’m not confident that it was tinted to spec and is actually causing the issue.

-I don’t have a wet mil gauge but when I rolled the first coat it didn’t cover the gray primer completely. That should be under 4 mils but I could have applied the other two coats thicker. With a 1/4” nap there was only a very small texture when wet.

I’m afraid it’s the primer.

I performed a scrape test with a paint scraper this morning. The Emerald peeled and rolled away from the primer without too much effort. Scraping the primer resulted in “primer” dust. Last night I painted a piece of plain plywood with two coats of Emerald. Scraping it this morning resulted in peeling but it seemed noticeably harder. Sanding with 220 of both the primed and unprimed pieces results in “rolls” not “dust”.

I set a small ceramic heater at 85 degrees with a oscillating fan in hopes that will help harden the paint a bit faster. Considering the possibility of the primer being tinted too much, do you feel this is all for naught and I should just sand everything down to the bare wood or do you still think I need to wait it out for another few days?

Matt G. (autor) from United States on May 23, 2020:

Coating thickness and air temp is important. Using a wet mil gauge is very helpful. When I started using one, I was surprised to see I was spraying a lot heavier than I thought. A coating thickness of 4 wet mils is what you want. Beyond 4 mils, the enamel dry time slows down.

You didn't mention the color, but that also plays a role in dry time. White colors dry very fast. I can handle a white cabinet door the next day without leaving marks in the finish. Deep base and ultra deep base colors take longer to dry because there's a lot more tint in the enamel. The excessive colorant slows the drying.

If the BIN primer was tinted too, especially beyond the recommended specs, which I believe is 2 ounces of colorant, this can also slow the drying a lot and cause problems.

Air temperature and humidity also impacts drying. If it's hot and humid, or too cold, this matters.

So the reason is either excessive colorant from deep base color needs more time to dry, the primer was over-tinted, the enamel was applied thicker than you think, or it's the air temp.

Hybrid enamel takes longer to cure than straight acrylic enamel. You applied three coats. All you can do is leave it alone and let it cure.

Michael Peyton em 22 de maio de 2020:

Adding to my previous post - I used a 4.5” Purdy 1/4” nap micro fiber roller. Coats were not heavy - and I waited 24 hours between coats of Emerald and 72 hours of drying time after the last coat to handle the cabinets.

Michael Peyton em 22 de maio de 2020:

I built two cabinets with 19mm Baltic Birch plywood. I applied 3 coats of Emerald Urethane over 2 coats of Bin Shellac based Primer sanding with a 220 between each coat. The finish “was” flawless. However even after 72 hours of drying time (with a fan as well) it is still “soft” with noticeable “give” and a slight stickiness when you press hard with your hand. I flipped the 125 pound cabinet over to paint the front. The entire back face was supported on a slightly textured floor for 20-30 minutes. Something told me to check it - so I flipped the cabinet over and the texture had transferred to my flawless finish. I checked the primer - it has bonded to the plywood as expected. What do you think the issue is?

Matt G. (autor) from United States on May 07, 2020:

I'm not sure what you mean by "lines" in the coating. If the sprayer wasn't atomizing the paint correctly then your spray fan could have left tails on the edges of it. You can wet sand them out and spray another coat. Other possible causes could be not spraying in one direction, keeping a wet edge. That would cause flashing, especially if it's a darker color.

Hacemakes on May 07, 2020:

Hi Matt, I've just finished the second coat of my cabinets with the SW Emerald Urethane in semi gloss. It worked really well but in certain light, I'm noticing lines in my work. I used an inexpensive HVLP sprayer from Wagner to apply the paint. Is there an easy fix for this and/or do you think applying a third coat would do the trick? Any advice to prevent this from happening again on the final coat? Thanks for the original post. It was very helpful in determining the right paint for my project!

Matt G. (autor) dos Estados Unidos em 30 de abril de 2020:

The semi-gloss finish of this product is very shiny. You probably wouldn't like it if you don't want the extra sheen on your cabinets. Unless you plan on cleaning the cabinets a lot, the satin finish is fine. The satin finish is less glossy, but not dull like flat paint. When I used this product, most of my customers chose the satin finish and were very pleased with the sheen. The level of sheen also depends on prep and the number of coats too. Two coats of primer and two coats of paint enhances the gloss. If you were to only prime one coat and paint one coat, the finish will be less shiny, so that could explain some people saying the satin finish looks flat. With one coat, it's more dull. I definitely recommend two coats each of primer and paint for durability. It makes a big difference at the end. You want some gloss on the cabinets for easier cleaning.

Mandy em 29 de abril de 2020:

Matt G, I am thinking of using this paint for my cupboards, but like you, I have heard mixed reviews about the satin sheen. I have heard that it tends to look flat. I would prefer the look of satin. Do you feel like the semi gloss isn’t as shinny and possibly looks like a Satin normally looks? I want to try to avoid a lot of shine on my cupboards.

Matt G. (autor) dos Estados Unidos em 13 de abril de 2020:

Melissa,

I think you're referring to the latex Extreme Bond primer from Sherwin Williams. If the cabinets are already painted that primer's fine, but if they're not painted, it's best to use an oil-based primer sealer, or white shellac primer, on the cabinets. Either one seals wood.

Melissa em 12 de abril de 2020:

Hello! Thanks for the nice article, I’m about to paint my cabinets. sherwin Williams website recommend a extra bond latex primer But I read here latex primer will ruin the cabinets which one I should use

Matt G. (autor) from United States on April 08, 2020:

The Graco X5, a DIY sprayer sold at big box stores, doesn't have a sealed motor and cannot be used with flammable coatings like BIN. Most of the inexpensive sprayers sold at Home Depot, or Lowes, are the same.

If you use a contractor sprayer from Graco, or Titan, these have sealed motors and can be used with flammable coatings. I own a Graco 495, Graco GX-19 Finish Pro and a Titan 440 Impact. All three can be used with BIN.

Emerald urethane is thick enamel and the small pump in your X5 has to work harder to atomize it without the tailing. I've sprayed Emerald enamel many times with all three of my sprayers and never had tailing with a 208 and 310 fine finish tip. I use the green FFLP tips. I'm glad you found the spray tip size that works with your sprayer.

Dave Contant on April 08, 2020:

Great information in this article, but I want to make a point about the BIN shellac primer. I intended to use it, but the sprayer I have (Graco X5) says you can't spray "flammable" materials. The flash point of the BIN shellac is too low for the sprayer. I had to go with Cover Stain. So make sure your sprayer can handle the shellac. Also, although the Emerald Urethane application instructions say to use a .015 to .017 tip at 2,000 PSI, I couldn't get rid of tailing with a 315 tip even at the max 3,000 PSI of the sprayer. I ended up having to buy a LP (low pressure) tip to get a nice pattern with feathered edges.

Matt G. (autor) from United States on April 02, 2020:

If the primer isn't coming off then I'd just prime over it with Cover Stain.

Victoria on April 02, 2020:

Thanks a million! I will use cover stain after doing some more research. This primer has been on for more than 24 hours and is not budging with 100 or 120 grit sandpaper .. Is there a trick?

Matt G. (autor) from United States on April 02, 2020:

Yes, I would remove the primer and prime with either oil-based primer, or BIN. Start over with a clean slate. If the primer's fresh it should sand off easily. You could prime over it too, but if the primer on there now hasn't bonded good to the surface you risk issues later. Oil-based primer, or BIN, both stick to prepped wood really well. Both seal the surface and provide a durable base coat. Cover Stain oil primer is a good product for this. Yes, sand in between prime coats with 220-grit. Use 320-grit if you sand between paint coats to avoid scratching the finish. Microfiber rollers and foam rollers work good. I like microfiber. Sometimes foam rollers leave bubbles in the paint. You can seal the cabinets if you want just make sure the two products are compatible.

Victoria on April 02, 2020:

Thank you so much! I wish I found this forum sooner! So I should sand off the current primer then apply bin shellac? Is a certain roller best for this? Do I need to sand again once the primer has dried before applying the paint? If so with what grit sand paper is best? I think I read somewhere else here that you don’t suggest sealing the cabinets once they are painted if this and emerald ere is used? Appreciate your help so very much!

Matt G. (autor) from United States on April 02, 2020:

The yellowing is tannin bleed. It's happening because the primer is probably latex. Use oil-based primer, or white shellac primer. I would remove the primer and start over.

Victoria on April 01, 2020:

Hi Matt! I currently have BM advance primer on my Oak cabinets and have changed my mind about their paint because yellow is showing through primer after cleaning with tsp and sanding with 120 grit paper first. I am painting white and don’t want it to yellow so I’m going to use SW emerald erethane as suggested. Do I need to sand this BM primer off and start over? What primer should I use? Again painting white and don’t want it to yellow. Thank you!!

Matt G. (autor) from United States on March 24, 2020:

Thank you for the feedback. I'm glad you found the information helpful for your project.

Poper on March 24, 2020:

About to do all my cabinets with this paint using the extreme bond primer and emerald urethane on the laminated panels. On the wood surfaces I'll do extreme block with the emerald latex. This post answered many questions I had before I start. Great thread!

Matt G. (autor) from United States on March 12, 2020:

No problem, thank you.

Cristina steadman on March 12, 2020:

Thank You Matt!

Matt G. (autor) from United States on March 11, 2020:

You can use poly on top of Emerald urethane if you want. Sherwin Williams basically told me they wouldn't back the product though once it's top coated with another product. I can't really recommend a paint brush for furniture because I don't paint furniture at all. Purdy paint brushes are what I've always used the most. I like Purdy XL brushes. I've also used Corona brushes and like them. I know Wooster has some good brushes too, but I've never used them.

Cristina steadman on March 11, 2020:

. I refinish a lot of my own and friends furniture pieces. I’ve always used alkyd paint From BM or HD with a couple coats of poly. They say with Emerald you don’t need too , that it’s hard enough. Could I use poly on top if I feel like it needs it? The color I chose for my next project is a navy Also what is the best paint brush you’ve used for furniture pc, I know you use a spray gun but would like your thoughts on brushes

Cristina

Matt G. (autor) from United States on January 11, 2020:

Did you prime first, and if so, did you use latex or oil primer? If latex primer was used, that's likely why the paint is coming off like that. Oil primer or shellac primer dries harder and forms a stronger foundation under the paint.

Did you clean and sand the surface before priming and painting? How long did you wait to sand the paint? I've never experienced any issues with this product sanding off like that with my process for prep and application.

I clean, sand, caulk, spray two prime coats, using BIN shellac primer, sanding between coats. I let the primer harden overnight, scuff sand, and spray two coats of Emerald urethane at 3 1/2 to 4 mils max, allowing the paint to dry overnight between coats. Emerald urethane has good blocking if you prep right and let the paint dry and harden up overnight before scuff sanding.

Shawn C on January 10, 2020:

I sprayed this on using the homeright hvlp. I thinned the paint 15%. It seemed to work very well. It dries a little rougher than I would have liked, but nothing a little 400 grit couldn't take care of.

Matt G. (autor) from United States on October 27, 2019:

Oil-based paint is very durable, but as you said, the smell is an issue. Emerald urethane enamel, not the regular acrylic Emerald, is durable too. The enamel dries hard, similar to oil paint. It's washable for dirt and food stains. I'm not familiar with Pro Choice paint, so I don't if you meant Pro Classic enamel. Pro Classic is a good product. I've brushed and sprayed a lot of the acrylic version. On cabinets, Emerald urethane will dry harder and be more washable than Pro Classic acrylic. There's also a Pro Classic hybrid enamel, similar to Emerald urethane, but I've never used that product. Your painter should use BIN shellac primer, or oil-based primer.

Lindsey on October 27, 2019:

Hi, I am so glad I ran across your post, I hope you are still answering questions! So they are installing our new kitchen cabinets next week and I’m using SW paint. I’ve really been studying the best way to go about this as I’m not a painter and I don’t want to get it wrong! My painter always works with oil base paint but I’m sensitive to oil base paint for some reason and the smell is too over powering(I’ve remodeled lots of homes). Anyhow, I find the Emerald water base to be maybe exactly what I need for myself and my painter. Is the smell super strong and overpowering? I mean if so, I should just go oil base.

My local SW says the Pro Choice is what most painters use? It’s a lot cheaper but I’m curious if you have continued using the Pro Choice? Is there a difference in looks of the two paintsOr is it just the application is better for my painter? My painter has been doing this a long time but prefers oil. Is there a difference in the way they clean once finished? I need about 20 gallons and I don’t mind spending extra but I’d theres not a huge difference to the quality or the eye, I will go Pro Choice. If there’s not a big difference in the strong ness of the odor, I might as well go oil.

Sorry, so long, I’m just excited to find someone talking about my exact issue and me and my painter have a language barrier which makes asking difficult.

ALSO...if I paint my fresh cabinets with either of these pints, which primer do you suggest?

Thanks so much!!

Matt G. (autor) from United States on October 10, 2019:

Cleaning and scuff sanding the SuperPaint on the doors before applying Emerald urethane is fine. That will dull the gloss of the existing paint so the new paint grips the surface better. You can of course apply primer too. Sherwin Williams sells a latex bonding primer for that purpose.

Vanja on October 02, 2019:

I am using Emerald urethane paint on interior doors, previously finished with SW Super paint in semi gloss. We are sending doors slightly. Do we have to apply a primer before repainting with Emerald urethane paint. If yes, what kind of primer?

Matt G. (autor) from United States on August 09, 2019:

Yes, BIN shellac primer will seal the MDF doors for your paint.

T Cao on August 08, 2019:

Matt,

Can the same process (BIN Shellac + Emerald Urethane Paint) be used for MDF cabinet doors?

Matt G. (autor) from United States on July 03, 2019:

How did you prep the cabinets and what type of primer was used? I've never had any problems with the paint coming off.

Pam on July 02, 2019:

I used Sherwin Williams Emerald urethane trim enamel for bathroom cabinets and the paint and primer both are gummy and come when you rub them. Any suggestions what went wrong?

Matt G. (autor) from United States on July 02, 2019:

Tony,

Yes, Emerald urethane levels pretty good when brushed on. If it's already painted, you don't need to use primer. Just clean, scuff sand the surface, and paint, but if there's bleed through with the existing paint, use oil primer. If there's a big color difference that could impact the number of coats, use latex primer.

Tony on July 01, 2019:

Can the SW Emerald Urethane be brushed on?

I am wanting to paint an already painted base cabinet with it. I don't know what type paint was used.

What primer would you suggest?

Obrigado.

Matt G. (autor) from United States on May 25, 2019:

Brenda,

No problem. I'm glad you found the article helpful.

Brenda Grant em 25 de maio de 2019:

Thank you so much for your help. I appreciate it more than you know. I'll let you know what happens down the road.

Matt G. (autor) from United States on May 25, 2019:

Brenda,

A poly coat will harden the surface, but I've never used that product before so I'm not sure if oil or latex poly should be used. Oil is more durable, but you need to know one hundred percent what's compatible with the product on your cabinets. I would contact your SW store and talk to the manager and ask them to call their product hotline with your inquiry. My local SW store has done this for me many times when the store employees couldn't provide a definite clear answer about product compatbility.

Brenda Grant em 25 de maio de 2019:

Just found the paint was SW Pro Industrial, Pre-Catalyzed Waterbased Epoxy. K45 T 1154, 6509-83984 Egg-Shell He did prime the cabinets and left them for 24 hours before painting. They were originally stained cabinets. Since SW recommends I wait 60 days before doing anything, can I after 60 days, put on a polyurethane coat? And if I can, should it be a water- based polyurethane or an oil- based? SW man says it should be an oil based. I know you must use the right based polyurethane. Hoping a polyurethane will harden the finish and provide a little bit of shine, just not too much.Thank you for your help here at this site. It means a lot to me.Wished he had used the paints your recommend. with your recommendation, I hope I can help the situation. Thank you so much.

Matt G. (autor) from United States on May 24, 2019:

Brenda,

Did the painter use latex or oil primer? What paint from Sherwin Williams was used on your cabinets? SW has many paints for different purposes, some of which shouldn't be used on cabinets. If the paint is soft and rubbery, it sounds like a cheap wall or trim paint was used, or the cabinets weren't prepped right. ProClassic and Emerald urethane are good paints for cabinets. I use Emerald urethane. It dries a little harder than ProClassic.

Brenda Grant on May 24, 2019:

I am so disappointed in my newly painted $2200 kitchen cabinets. The painter used SW paint but as you said it is soft and rubbery. I don't know what type he used but it was the eggshell finish. I am just sick over it. I live on retirement pay and was so excited to get them painted. But alas, the finish is sad. I called SW and they say wait 60 days for the paint to set. After 60 days, is there a polyurethane I could put on them to add a little shine and harden them up? Thanks for any help you can provide.


Assista o vídeo: Ask a Painter Live #115: Sherwin-Williams Emerald Trim Urethane and all of your questions live!


Comentários:

  1. Shaktirg

    Compreensivelmente, obrigado por uma explicação.

  2. Bromly

    Acho que você está cometendo um erro. Posso defender minha posição. Mande-me um e-mail para PM, vamos conversar.

  3. Khairy

    Sim, realmente obrigado



Escreve uma mensagem


Artigo Anterior

Quando você planta sementes de couve dentro da zona 5

Próximo Artigo

Plantas de jardim de ervas em espiral